The Legend of the Rift (Peter Lerangis,2016)

legend of the rift

Why did you choose this book?

This is the 5th and final installment in the Seven Wonders series.  When I was working part-time as a library shelver, I started listening to long juvenile fiction series on audiobook while driving.  After getting caught up on the entirety then-published of The 39 CluesI turned to this series.

What’s it about?

In essence, Aly, Cass, Jack, and Marco carry the G7W gene, which enhances their natural talents to a superhuman level but will kill them by their 14th birthday.  It is the legacy left to them as descendants of the royal family of Atlantis.  The only way to stop this cruel fate is for the group to travel to the sites of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World, retrieving magical loculi created by one of the Atlantean princes.

Categories

Juvenile fantasy, adventure

Other recommended reads?

The 39 Clues series, which I 100% absolutely adore (especially on audio).  I haven’t yet read them, but I feel like The Infinity Ring and TombQuest would be similar.  I have read Percy Jackson (Rick Riordan) and it would appeal to a similar audience.

Review

I loved the first two books in this series, but became disenchanted with it after the death of a beloved (by me at least) character in the third volume.  Determined to see the series to the finish, I decided to read the next two installments.  This book was definitely more serious in tone than the first couple since the group is working to save the world, but it was quite good.  The epilogue was breathtaking.  It made me smile while I read, and also made this one of those books that you just have to hug when you finish.  The epilogue made the book for me.  Let me know if you agree.

Up next?

Terrorist by John Updike

Leave a Reply

