The Golden Specific (SE Grove, 2015)

golden specific

Why did you choose this book? 

I was intrigued by the synopsis, which actually made me pick up the previous book in the series.  I love the concept of a world fractured not into countries but into different periods of time.

What’s it about?

As I mentioned in the previous post, the world in this book has been fractured into different Ages – different parts of the world set in different time periods.  Sophia’s parents were explorers who traveled east in search of a friend in danger.  Sophia has dedicated herself to finding them, whatever the consequences.

Categories

Juvenile fantasy, cartography, alternate reality

Other recommendations?

I stand by what I said in the last post about the similarities between this series and Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials.

Review

I found this entry in the series much more compelling than its predecessor.  The reader finds out how Ages set in the future deal with Ages set in the past, and we make our first journey to what the reader knows as Europe.  This volume seemed a bit darker and more mature than the first, which I appreciated, though I still struggle with whether or not this book is classified correctly.  The main character is young and it isn’t particularly gory or sexy, but the vocabulary is intense!  There were even words I didn’t know (inchoate…really, how often does that come up?).  It ended on a cliff-hanger and I can’t wait to find out what happens next.  Definitely an improvement over The Glass Sentence.

Up next?

The Secret History by Donna Tartt

Leave a Reply

