The Martian (Andy Weir, 2014)

the martian

Why did you choose this book?

As I mentioned before, I’m leading all of the fiction book discussions at our library this year.  This book was the February pick.

What’s it about?

Astronaut Mark Watney was left for dead on Mars, but due to a freak coincidence, he survives his injuries and begins to make a life for himself.  But without communication with Earth, will he be rescued?  How long can one man survive on a solitary planet?

Categories

Science fiction-unquestionably

Other recommended reads?

I’m not a big science fiction fan, but I’ve been told that this book is similar to those written by Arthur C. Clarke and Michael Crichton.

Review

As I just said, I usually don’t like science fiction.  I think that comes from a childhood where my dad loved movies like 2001 and Silent Running, and I would sit there and fail to appreciate them.  It took me about 100 pages to really become invested in the story, but once those pages passed I loved it!  I became so invested in Mark’s survival and I loved that the book had just the right amount of scientific information.  It was a great read and has made my pile of books to reread in the future!

Up next?

The Forgotten Room by Beatriz Williams, Karen White, and Lauren Willig

Leave a Reply

