The Dog Master (W. Bruce Cameron, 2015)

dog master

Why did you choose this book?

I’m a bit obsessed with dogs.  People who know me know that’s an understatement.  This novel deals with the first dog, so I was on it!  I read the first chapter in an issue of BuzzBooks (first chapters of highly anticipated books for the next 6 months or so), and was hooked!

What’s it about?

At this point in prehistory there are several tribes of people: the quiet Frightened, the Wolfen (who take their community organization from wolf packs), the Kindred, the fish-eating Blanc, and the vicious Cohort.  The story follows a Wolfen named Silex, a Kindred named Calli and her son Mal, and a female wolf critically injured in a lion attack while pregnant.

Categories

Historical fiction?  The time period is just “prehistory” but I’ll count that as historical fiction

Other recommended reads? 

Probably other works by this author, though I haven’t read any of his other books

Review

I loved the premise of this book.  I also loved that there was a section dealing with a modern day archaeologist looking for fossil evidence of the first domesticated dog.  I found the process of domestication unbelievably simple in this book, and the structure of the tribes overly complicated.  I’m not sure that the Cohort or Frightened were necessary.  I’m also not sure how these tribes fit into actual prehistory.  I finished the book, but I’m not sure why.  I didn’t care about the plot outcome or any of the characters.

Up next?

A Curious Beginning by Deanna Raybourn

Leave a Reply

