Whose Body? (Dorothy Sayers, 1923)

whose body

First, a quick apology.  I realize it’s been quite a while since my last post.  But I promise, you haven’t missed much.  I just got bogged down on this book (despite its short length), and distracted by the purchase of a certain game called Animal Crossing: New Leaf.

Why did you choose this book?

My boss (the director of our library) LOVES Dorothy Sayers.  So I figured I’d give one of his favorite authors a try.

What’s it about?

This is the 1st book in a series.

A body is found in a bathtub, wearing nothing other than a pair of golden pince-nez.  The same night, a prominent man goes missing.  Is there a connection?  Only intrepid detective Lord Peter Wimsey can find out!

Categories

Mystery, classic mystery (not classic like To Kill a Mockingbird but classic in the sense that it was a foundational mystery and one often referred to when talking about the genre.  Agatha Christie is another classic mystery author.  I’m not sure that this is an official term, but it makes sense to me so I use it!).

Other recommended reads?

Agatha Christie for oh so many reasons. First, both authors wrote in the 1920s and use the same type of language in their writing.  Second, they are both relatively cozy in the traditional sense, which mostly just means that their books don’t include a lot of gore or sex.  Cozy in the more modern sense refers to a genre of mysteries fitting that metric but also with amateur sleuths with various connections to law enforcement, and often with cheesily punny titles.

Review

For some reason, I read the first 70 pages of this book and then was completely stuck.  I picked it up again a week later and read the remainder in one night.  I’m not sure why it took me so long to get into it.  The resolution seemed similar to some Agatha Christie novels I’ve read and I also started to get frustrated with the fact that Lord Peter is amazing at many more things than most people.  He’s almost too good to be real…I also both loved and hated the amount of detail Sayers included in her villain’s confession.  I loved knowing all of the intricate details and the points along the path of the story that mattered, but I hated taking forever to come to the end.  I also felt that such a long confession was unrealistic.  All told though, I would read another Wimsey mystery!

Next up?

Balm by Dolen Perkins-Valdez

 

Leave a Reply

