The Royal We (Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan, 2015)

royal we

Why did you choose this book?

I was intrigued by the idea of a novel based on the story of Prince William and Princess Kate.  The book was much larger than I thought it would be (at 400ish pages), and I love the cover art.

What’s it about?

Bex Porter has left Iowa and her twin sister Lacey behind to spend a semester at Oxford.  It turns out that she is in the same dorm as Nick, the heir to the British throne.  The two strike up an unlikely, rocky, and adorable friendship and the rest is history.  Or is it?

Categories?

Fiction.  Some people would probably say romance, but I don’t think that the romantic storyline is the entire point of the book.  There are a lot of other elements in Bex’s life.

Other recommended reads?

For some reason this book reminded me a lot of Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin.  Another story about relationships and friendships in the modern age.

Final thoughts?

I absolutely adored this book.  Seriously.  I couldn’t get enough of it, and I thought about it even when I wasn’t reading.  I was enthralled by the humanity of Bex, Nick and their friends.  It’s tempting to make a book like this into a pure fairytale, but the characters had human faults and made mistakes.  I love Bex’s gumption and tomboyishness.  I also have to say that I became really emotionally involved in this novel.  I laughed out loud several times, which I never ever do when I read.  It was just hilarious!  There were a couple of arguments where I was so into Bex’s perspective that I wanted her to say more and really drive her point home.  I also wish the book had covered just one more day in the timeline.  If you read it you’ll see what I mean.  And if you like romantic comedies at all you’ll read it.  I can’t recommend this one strongly enough.

Up next?

The Masque of a Murderer by Susanna Calkins

Leave a Reply

