Hammer Head: The Making of a Carpenter (Nina Maclaughlin)

hammer head

Why did you choose this book?

As with so many of the books in my life, I read about it somewhere and was intrigued.  I confess, though, that it took me a long time to get to it on my TBR (to be read) pile.

What’s it about?

Nina quits her job as a journalist after realizing that she no longer enjoys it.  After finding an ad on Craigslist for an assistant carpenter, she applies and is hired.  The book consists of anecdotes about her employer, her time on the job, and the joy she found in working with wood, tile, and power tools.

Categories?

Nonfiction, memoir, carpentry

Other recommended reads?

I think the people who would enjoy this book are those that like these kind of topically focused memoirs.  It’s similar in a way to Julie and Julia by Julie Powell or Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert or even H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald.

Final thoughts?

A good, quick read.  I finished it in a couple of nights and enjoyed both the writing and learning about carpentry.  I wouldn’t say I loved it, but I liked it.

Up next?

The Tusk That Did the Damage by Tania James

Leave a Reply

